North of Beautiful (Justina Chen Headley)

So, my best friend (more like sister), Hattie, had me wait forever to read this book about a girl from Colville, Washington, with a huge, obnoxious, obvious port-wine stain on the right side of her face. For those of you that don’t understand, a port-wine stain is a birth mark that kind of looks like wine was spilled on your face. And Hattie told our friend Tony he could borrow it. Why he’d want to read a teenage girly book, I have no idea.
 
So, the girl, Terra, has gone through all this laser treatment and nothing has worked. Then one day, as they’re going back home, Terra nearly runs over a sixteen-year-old Chinese boy, Jacob, and Terra and her mother go with Jacob and his adopted mom, Nora, to go visit Terra’s big brother Merc in China. Then Terra goes on to find true beauty and accidentally falls in love with Jacob, even though she has a boyfriend, Eric, at home. So, et cetera, et cetera. Eventually Terra breaks up with Eric and Jacob and Terra can live happily after.
 
Now, I have four more things to say. 1.) This was an excellent book. Each time I uncovered something in the book, I would go up to her the next day and totally flip out. “Why didn’t you tell me that, Hattie?!” 2.)  Get it. Like I said. Great book. 3.) Hattie and I wonder – is it Merc like Mercer Island, but without the -er, or is it Merc like Mercury without the -cury? 4.) Please respond to these reviews. Also give people this site address. I want more readers. The more readers I get, the easier it’ll be for me to publish a book.
 
Thanks for reading! ~Flik
Posted on June 14, 2011, in Drama, Finding Yourself, Realistic-Fiction, Romance, Sad/Unfortunate. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

